Acclaimed producer Jan Chapman to head up APSA jury

Jan Chapman has been named president of the international jury for the sixth annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards, which are relocating to Brisbane on November 23 after five years on the Gold Coast.

The Australian producer is the perfect fit for the still-fledgeling but prestigious APSAs. Chapman of course is the producing force behind Jane Campion masterpieces Bright Star (2009) and three-time Oscar winner The Piano (1993), plus Aussie hits and international festival faves Somersault (2004), Suburban Mayhem (2006) and Griff the Invisible (2010).

“I’m delighted to have this opportunity to view the best cinema from the diverse Asia Pacific region and look forward to meeting the filmmakers representing 70 countries in Brisbane,” said Chapman, who follows in the APSA footsteps of luminaries such as Bruce Beresford (2008) and Lord David Puttnam (2010).

Billed as Asia Pacific’s highest accolade in film, the APSAs help foster cinematic excellence and cultural diversity in the Asia Pacific region, which the Academy defines as stretching from Egypt in the west to the Cook Islands in the east, Russia in the north and New Zealand in the south. An initiative of the Queensland governemnt, ASPA distributes $140,000 development funding each year to filmmakers in the region and is endorsed by UNESCO, plus maintains an alliance with the European Film Academy.

Previous Best Feature Film winners include Samson and Delilah (2009), pictured above, and A Separation (2011). This year’s nominees for Best Feature Film are:

– Bumchoiwaui Junjaeng (Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time)/Republic of Korea

Khers (Bear)/Islamic Republic of Iran

– Orda (The Horde)/Russian Federation

Tepenin Ardi (Beyond the Hill)/Turkey, Greece

Wu Xia/Hong Kong, People’s Republic of China

Visit for more info on this year’s nominees.

the author


The cinemazzi team dish up film chat from down under.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *